Back ] Home ] Up ] Next ]


Dance Music Hall of Fame







The Dance Music Hall of Fame was created in 2003 when music industry veteran John Parker (Robbins Entertainment) thought that something needed to be done to honor the creators and innovators of dance music. He enlisted the help of Eddie O'Loughlin (Next Plateau Records) initially and then they brought Daniel Glass (Glassworks), Tom Silverman (Tommy Boy Records) and Brian Chin (noted dance music writer/historian) in to form the organization. 

The Dance Music Hall of Fame recognizes the contributions of those who have had a significant impact on the evolution and development of dance music and celebrates the history and significance of the genre.



Marty Angelo (Disco Step-by-Step®), Kurtis Blow (Rapper's Delight), "the late Mel Cheren" (Westend Records), Vince Montana (Salsoul Records) and Earl Young (drummer - The Trammps/MFSB) - Dance Music Awards Dinner - NYC - 2004


Artists, Producers, Record, Remixer and DJs that helped to shape the dance music industry become eligible for induction 25 years after their first contribution or record release. Criteria include the influence and significance of the nominee's contributions to dance music.


The Dance Music Hall Of Fame Board of Advisers was composed of dance music professionals, historians and journalists. When the nominees were selected the ballots were sent to an international voting committee of over 1,000 dance music experts. An awards ceremony announcing the inductees in the Dance Music Hall Of Fame would take place annually at a formal dinner event in New York. Due to financial differences among the Board members, The Dance Music Hall of Fame ceased operations after its second ceremony in 2005.


Frankie Knuckles, Martha Wash, Evelyn Champaigne King, Danny Tenaglia and Marty Angelo


2004 - Dance Music Hall of Fame (DMHOF) Board of Directors: Daniel Glass, Eddie O'Loughlin, John Parker, Tom Silverman.

2004 - Board of Advisers: Marty Angelo, John "Jellybean" Benitez, Joey Carvello, Mel Cheren, Michael Ellis, Dimitri from Paris, Tony Humphries, Frankie Knuckles, Jurgen Korduletsch, Brad LeBeau, John Luongo, Guy Moot, Michael Paoletta, Vince Pellegrino, Cory Robbins, Pete Tong, Cary Vance, Louie Vega, Pete Waterman, Judy Weinstein and Brian Chin.



"Once Life Matters: A New Beginning"


Read Marty Angelo's life-changing experiences in his book



He lived a life of luxury that came at a high price. Why his dream of making it big in the music business almost killed him.


Available Online  - BUY NOW


There is a newer edition of this item:
Once Life Matters: A New Beginning - 2nd. Edition


All proceeds go to offset the cost of printing, shipping, and handling thousands of donated books to prisons/jails, rehabs, college campuses, and to troubled celebrities.


Marty Angelo's book is available online at and in Kindle format




Home ] Up ] Disco Dj Hall of Fame™ ] Hustle Dancers Hall of Fame™ ] Disco Dance Music Hall of Fame™ ] Dj Appreciation Award ] Buffalo Celebrates Its Disco Heritage ] Saturday Night Fever - 25 Year Anniversary Party ] [ Dance Music Hall of Fame ] Disco: A Decade of Saturday Nights ] Get Down Tonight: The Disco Explosion ] When Disco Ruled the World ] Disco: Spinning the Story ] Disco Daze - CBS News ] Buffalo Spree Magazine ] Lifetime Achievement Award ] Lifetime Achievement Award ]